Thursday, August 19, 2010

Prenatal yoga is AWESOME!

Very intense title don't you think!? LOL...

But quite simply, prenatal yoga is probably going to be the best decision I've made during this pregnancy. My dear friends Becky and Shelley raved about it when they were pregnant and Becky kept telling me...sign up, sign up, you have to sign up! So, finally I did and it was such a wonderful experience. I can't believe I waited this long.

Quick recap - went for the first time tonight and met many wonderful ladies. Everyone is mid way if not further along in their pregnancy. My teacher Marni was beautiful, sweet, funny and a rock star. She even swore! Now that's my kinda woman :) The class opened with all of us going around the room saying our name, due date and why "we" (baby and me) were there. We did some chanting and did challenging yoga moves.

My friend Joeanna will appreciate this one...Marni said to me in the middle of a pose "you have obviously done yoga before!" I looked her and said "uh..no not really, I guess in college" then she winked at me, "come on you can tell". I sat there thinking hmmm..either I'm a kick ass yoga student or she just making me feel welcome..I'm sure the latter.

Nonetheless it was AWESOME and I will be going once a week between now and the end of the pregnancy.

Tuesday, August 17, 2010

Happy List

Five months into pregnancy and there is one thing I know, I feel great! I'm eating good (just a lot of it), I'm working out and if you've seen me lately you know, I'm very affectionate. I guess I'm just... happy being pregnant! Not that I thought I wouldn't be, I'm just really surprised the only major side effects I've been experiencing are crazy hunger and tiredness. It's been wonderful and we're blessed. I'm really looking forward to the next phase of this journey.



I must admit, I really need to get better at writing a blog! Ever since we found out "it" is actually a HE, we have been trying to get everything ready for his room, our room, actually the whole house! I had to tell Steve we have over 4 months, there isn't a rush. We are very excited and loving this nesting thing!



So, the other day I was reading another blog and the author wrote a "Happiness List". These were things or situations she had done or wanted to do and were no particular order. So, I've been thinking about my happiness list and this is what I can say for sure:




  • The Fall Season - Everything about it, the smells, the brisk air, the colors - especially the trees on Cherry Ave. by my parents house when they change a vibrant yellow. I actually stopped my car and took pictures last year.

  • The smell of rain on cement

  • A Mexican fiesta, preferably in Mexico or even better Espana! On the beach at night, with everyone drinking tequila and margs, eating yummy authentic food. Oh and lots of dancing barefoot, with little Christmas lights everywhere (I've obviously thought this one out).

  • Finishing a book

  • Steve during the holidays

  • King crab feast, with a big baked potato and salad. YUMMM

  • Sunrise at the beach or in SF by any bridge

  • Playing catch with my Dad

  • Sleeping in on Sundays

  • Cuddling with Willie everyday

  • Eating LaVilla Ravs

  • Drinking the best red wine that my cousin brings for the holidays and the taking the first bite of cheese with it

  • Anticipating holding a little boy that is half me and half Steve!

I love thinking about the things that make me happy! Oh and in regards to a name, nope we haven't decided on one yet. It's quite the responsibility naming a person for the rest of his life. All we know is that we want it to be a strong name. We'll see....hehe..


Here's a pic of my growing tummy at 5 months and one week :)

Ciao for now!

Thursday, July 29, 2010

"There once was a tree....and she loved a little boy"

YAY I'm BACK! It's been a while since I've written, partially on purpose, because I wanted to wait and see how our second trimester ultrasound went. This was the biggie and the one where we'd find out the gender. Steve and I we were on pins and needles and could hardly stand it. Our instincts said it was boy, most of our friends and family said it was a girl. But, who really knew?! All we knew is how excited we were and just maybe ... if it actually WAS a boy, we'd have a leg up on this whole parenting thing, since we have an awesome nephew who is just the best kid ever. And, hey...we have a male dog - and as we all know... dogs, kids...they're all the same! LOL ..JK

I've been so excited, that last night I decided to make cupcakes. My plan was to fill vanilla cupcakes with either blue or pink frosting and cover the top with white frosting. Then I would try and see as many people as I could in person to tell them the good news but I wouldn't say what were having, they would have take a bite of the cupcake! Brilliant, right?! I thought so ;)

So today was the day and we were out of our mind! Giddy like school children. In fact, last night Steve and I went to bed semi-early thinking the sooner we go to sleep the sooner we'll wake up to find out the good news. I invited my Mom and Phyllis to come with us, but they only allowed Steve in the actual room while the technician checked to make sure all the measurements were good and the baby had all it's ligaments. Whew! We're good! The ultrasound tech asked us what we thought gender was and we both said "BOY"! Then Steve-o started to tell him about my cupcakes and how last night we both randomly chose one, we took a bite at the same time and there it was the blue frosting! Both of us had a blue frosting cupcake, we couldn't believe it! The technician laughed and officially gave me the crazy look - but hey I don't blame him! We're talking cupcakes here.
Then in his little ultrasound tech voice he said...hmmm..



Beautiful Rio Del Mar Beach last weekend...thanks to Cori I was able to get this shot!


Now I don't think I have EVER seen Steve more excited than when I saw him today. We both let out a little yelp and tears rolled down our eyes. Steve held my hand so tightly and then all of sudden we started laughing and crying in excitement. It was truly a blessing..a healthy...boy was wiggling across the screen like a little water baby! He kept moving so much the tech had a hard time nailing down a good pic but we got one. Still working on the upload.

Mom and Phyllis were then allowed in and the tech said "either that kid has three legs or you've got a grandson!" They eeked with excitement and grabbed on to my feet while Steve and I kept our laugh/cry going on. Mostly, it was me crying. What an amazing feeling. Nonetheless, our appointment with our doctor was great. While waiting for her to come and see us, Steve and I jumped and danced around the room. We're pretty much children ourselves.

Steve called his Dad, Grandma, Brother and Auntie. I went and saw my Dad, God Mom and work peeps (who were having a bet on what I was having - 2:1 for a boy). Here are some great pics from today!



My Auntie Linda and I :)






Courtney!!!


So as you can tell it was a great day, a wonderful experience! Probably one of the best days of our entire lives. And for those of you who read this whole post, you're great! Extra points if you know where the title of this post comes from...

Because I love pictures of me and my dog Willie...who will soon have someone else to contend with..here's our latest..pre-cut.


Tuesday, June 15, 2010

12 Weeks!

I feel like we've been waiting for the 12 week milestone forever! We have shared our good news with our closest family and friends, but now we both can tell the world!

As of today, I wouldn't necessarily say I'm showing, but I can tell I'm bigger. So far we have had two appointments both including ultra sounds. The doctor says everything is normal and we're doing good. In fact, she said that Steve is going to be so fun in the delivery room and I agree, but I'm not so sure "fun" is the word I would use to describe a delivery room, but okay. :)


The only problem so far, is the ginormous bruise left on my arm from when they took 8 vials of blood! The blood is being tested for genetic abnormalities. Our next visit is on 6/25 where we will receive another ultrasound..this one for the nuchual screening. This screening coupled with my blood test results will give the doctor an idea if we have a chance of genetic problems. I'm not worried. The benefit, besides the obvious, is that we may be able to tell what we are having since the ultra sound is at the end of my (our) 13 week. I think we just have to remember to ask the tech. We can't wait to find out!!!! We talk about how amazing people are who hold out. Not us.


So to sum up pregnancy thus far here's my stats:

  • Morning Sickness - None, although some minor nausea in the 10th week
  • Cravings - Yes, PLUMS, blueberries, taco bell, tomato soup, pickles (I've always loved pickles) and fro yo. Basically, I'm loving the fruit of the season.
  • Aversions - Yes, some meat
  • Weight gain - A pound or probaby 2 by now (well as far as I know. And, no I will not buy a scale) LOL
  • Emotions - Up and down, but mostly up!!! Super excited and can't wait to be a mama!
  • Misc. - I've had a cold and food poisoning thus far :( what's up with that!


Me at 3 months :)




I also want to give a shout out to all my lovely ladies. Since I don't have a sister, my friends are just like having 7 sisters along this journey with me!

Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Preggers!



WOW I can't believe it but we are definitely pregnant. Steve and I were beginning to get the itch about 6 months ago. I think it was pretty obvious to all of our friends and family too, since both of us would goo and ga over every baby we came in contact with. Steve is an amazing person, but when you see him with a child, you know he is going to be an incredible father. He's one of those fun people, who makes you laugh, who enjoys a big project and will take his time to explain it thoroughly. His relationship with our nephew is really neat to see unfold, since Jr. is only 5 but really looks up to his Uncle Steve. And, well I've always known that I wanted to be a mother and so here we are....pregnant and ready for parenthood. What's funny is that we are already talking about when he's going to be here! Like seriously, do we really have to wait 6 more months?! Crazy!

I say HE only because I have this weird feeling that's what it is. We could care less if it a boy or a girl, just that it's happy and healthy. We'll see....my doctor says that we can find out the sex in week 18! Seems forever from now, but I'm sure it will come up fast. I've also heard some friends mention they can tell the sex at week 16 or even 12 at your nuchal screening. I guess every doctor does things differently.

So proud..of our little rice pilaf!


Today marks week 9. I have not been sick at all nor have I had a craving -- BUT I'm-a-hungry! Although, I'm trying to eat well and limit the sweets. However, I've been having litterally a half of a Sprite at night and I just found out that's bad too. I say everything in moderation. I'm working out about 4 days a week and doing my little weight video that Phyllis bought me (mother in law) in the mornings. Let's not get too excited it's only for 10 minutes :) Phyllis has been so sweet since we found out. She never had a daughter so I'm glad she can spoil me like her own -- I mean it's the least I can do!

We have our second ultrasound on 6/3 since my first was only because I was having some minor pain really early on. They wanted to make sure the baby was okay and there it was...heart beat a fluttering. So we're ready for the next ultrasound on week 10. I think it's pretty cool how there are these small milestones to look forward to. It makes the pregnancy fun.

Oh and one last mention about Steve-O, he couldn't be more excited. He's done EVERYTHING for me, and it's only been 3 months. He's getting our backyard ready with new flowers and landscaping. He does the dishes almost every night and even though it's torture he goes to the grocery store for me. Now in my humble opinion, that's a good man. Our son or daughter is going to have a good example to look up to.